The emerging pedagogy that appeals most to me is flipped learning because it would allow my students to complete homework and extend their learning by doing hands-on activities in the classroom with me, instead of listening to me lecture. The simplest way to understand flipped learning is to think of it as “moving the more passive elements of learning (watching a lecture, reading a chapter, etc.) outside of the classroom, so that more class time is available for interactive, hands-on learning” (Edudemic, 2015).

I feel that there are many possible positive things that can come from flipped learning. Having my lessons on video would allow me to have lessons available to students who are absent. It would also be helpful for students and parents who are struggling comprehending lessons because they can pause and rewind. I feel that it could help me assess learning better because I can see where students are struggling. I like that students could have class time to do projects that are geared towards their individual interests and learning styles. The potential negative aspects of a flipped classroom are that I could not ensure that all students are watching the videos, even though I could make sure that they all have access to the videos. Students may not want to watch the videos just like they may not complete homework. There also may be students who do not learn well from the videos because they cannot ask questions. Further, “the flipped classroom is an easy model to get wrong. Although the idea is straightforward, an effective flip requires careful preparation. Recording lectures requires effort and time on the part of faculty, and out-of-class and in-class elements must be carefully integrated for students to understand the model and be motivated to prepare for class. As a result, introducing a flip can mean additional work and may require new skills for the instructor, although this learning curve could be mitigated by entering the model slowly” (Educause, 2012).

My main concern is how to set-up a flipped classroom, especially in a primary grade. I know that I would need to have my parents on board. They would need to agree to allow their child to watch a short video each night. They would also need to have Internet access. I found a really cool video on YouTube that shows how I could use flipped learning to teach letters and letter sounds (Buehler, 2013).

References

Buehler, A. (2013, February 5). Flipped Classroom: Kindergarten – The Letter “Bb”. Retrieved June 2, 2015, from YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGM4v30g7o4

Educause. (2012, February 7). 7 Things You Should Know About Flipped Classrooms. Retrieved June 2, 2015, from Educause: https://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/ELI7081.pdf

Edudemic. (2015). The Teacher’s Guide To Flipped Classrooms. Retrieved June 2, 2015, from Edudemic: http://www.edudemic.com/guides/flipped-classrooms-guide

3 thoughts on “Essential Question 3: Which emerging pedagogy appeals most to you, and might be most useful for your classroom and students? Why?

  1. Cherie- That is one great benefit of having lessons on videos is for the absent students. It is so hard to get these students caught up once they are absent. That is a great point you make about making sure the parents are supportive of a flipped classroom. After all they are the child’s first teachers. If the student’s parents are not supportive then it would be hard for you to work with that student and family. Also this would require a lot of additional work. It would take a lot to make the videos, make sure they are right and sound and everything else is ok before you post. Then you need to have lessons that go with what you posted for in the classroom and other assignments for student who might finish early or are fast learners. This type of classroom does take a lot of skill and patience in a teacher. I think you do need training and support in order to be successful the first time. I know I would feel better if I tried this out if I had the training and support in order to implement in my classroom.

    Like

    1. I agree about training and support before implementing the flip. I also think that it would be good to start small, with just one unit. Then I would like to get feedback from parents and students before trying again. I can’t help but think that it would be good to do after I know the parents and students and they know me. I might loop with my students and teach 1st grade next year and I really think that I could try it with my students because I know them and their parents. It is definitely something for me to think about and consider trying.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

