This week was a tough week for me. I was in a wedding on Saturday and spent the entire week burning wood and putting together crafts. I did learn how to burn wood this week and that was exciting. It is actually something that would be really fun to add to my makerspace if I didn’t have such young students. Safety was a concern for me and other people who wrote on my blog. I worry about making sure that my makerspace has age appropriate tools for students to use. I also need to make sure that there is adult supervision without having the adults “take over” the projects. After this week, I have a better idea of what I want to have in my makerspace and how I would like to have it set up. I got the idea to focus on crafts and circuits from Jessica and I am excited to have that be my jumping off point. I want to start slow and built over time as I get more comfortable with running a makerspace club. Location was another concern that I saw in the blogs this week. I know that my school has an art and science room, but it is also used for breakfast every morning. I just don’t know if that would be a viable room. I saw that some teachers were prepared to use their own classroom, but I worry about storage of projects in my own room. It is definitely something I will have to think about and plan around. I am looking forward to this week being more manageable and I am excited to be able to attend the makerspace that we have as a class.

Leave a Reply

