Wow, I learned a lot about Minecraft this week and now I am excited to design a unit for my first graders! I also have an idea that I got from Jessica on Marie’s blog about using it in my Makerspace to allow students to design and build the buildings they constructed in the game. I am sure I can get parents to donate legos. I also learned about MinecraftEdu from Becca and I’m really excited to use it when I develop my unit. I am starting my overall plan for the year, so this was a perfect time for me to be introduced to Minecraft and MinecraftEdu. I love that I am learning from my classmates and finding useful information that I can apply in my teaching practices! I also was reminded to buy some Minecraft books for my classroom. I am considering buying a chapter book to read to my class during lunch. They love when I read them chapter books! I feel that I could at least give it a try and see how it goes because there are so many educational components to the game. I missed the Twitter chat this week, because the ospreys shorted the power again, but I did read back through it. I love that my TweetDeck keeps all the conversations. That is one of the most helpful things I have found! I have decided that I am going to develop a poll for my class to find out what technology they use at home and which games they enjoy and know how to play. I believe it will be a good way of finding out if there are other apps or games that I can incorporate into my teaching next spring. I think it would be great to have a fall Minecraft unit and a spring unit for a different game.

Leave a Reply

