There are a lot of things about this course that I find exciting. I like that I get to mentor a colleague. I know that teaching others helps solidify thoughts and concepts, which is why I try to allow my students to teach each other whenever possible.

I did not make it to the Twitter chat this week, but I did get signed up to host a couple and I added the feed to my Tweet Deck. I did get to read the blogs of my classmates. I think it is awesome that Ali is having her students make PSAs to teach about digital citizenship. Not only is that fun for students, but they are passing on what they are learning in an engaging format!

Theresa introduced me to learning menus. I cannot wait to share the link with my friend who is teaching fourth grade this year. I think she is going to love it. I am still trying to find a way I could use it in my first grade classroom. I haven’t come up with anything yet, but it definitely has me thinking and that is the goal.

Sunshine’s blog hit home with me as she wrote about the importance of creativity and allowing teachers the freedom to teach with passion. Curriculum and performance demands sometimes make it hard (or almost impossible) for teachers to deviate from how the district or school would like things taught to students. I believe that passion equals student engagement. Its importance should not be underestimated.

I found our text to be pretty interesting. I especially liked what the author does the first three days of school to get his students excited. I kept thinking that I would love to be in his class.

Leave a Reply

