Tips for Conducting Research Interviews (1)

I chose to make an infographic that has helpful tips to conducting research interviews. According to our text, “Interviewing is necessary when we cannot observe behavior, feelings, or how people interpret the world around them” (Merriam & Tisdell, 2016). I was able to find a lot of helpful tips of some things that I hadn’t thought of in terms to conducting interviews. I also found tips of things that I had used in the past and found really helpful.

References

Holm-Hansen, C. (2007, July). Conducting Interviews: Tips for Conducting Program Evaluation. Retrieved October 9, 2015, from Wilder Foundation: https://www.wilder.org/Wilder- Research/Publications/Studies/Program%20Evaluation%20and%20Research%20Tips/Conducting%20Interviews%20-%20Tips%20for%20Conducting%20Program%20Evaluation%20Issue%2011,%20Fact%20Sheet.pdf

McNamara, C. (n.d.). General Guidelines for Conducting Research Interviews. Retrieved October 9, 2015, from Free Management Library: http://managementhelp.org/businessresearch/interviews.htm

Merriam, S. B., & Tisdell, E. J. (2016). Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

The Open University. (n.d.). Conducting an Interview . Retrieved October 9, 2015, from Skills for OU Study: http://www2.open.ac.uk/students/skillsforstudy/conducting-an-interview.php

Valenzuela, D., & Shrivastava, P. (n.d.). Interview as a Method for Qualitative Research Qualitative Research. Retrieved October 9, 2015, from Arizona State University: http://www.public.asu.edu/~kroel/www500/Interview%20Fri.pdf

6 thoughts on “Important Things to Remember When Conducting Interviews

  1. I love the way you set up the graphic. I also like that you limited the amount of information. I found it very challenging to limit what I was putting on the infographic. Is your graphic for how you are going to conduct your interviews? If not, then I think you may want to change what would go under your conducting an interview section. According to the text how you conduct an interview depends on the type of interview you are doing: semistructured, structured, or unstructured. You only wrote about a structured interview. If you are not doing a structured interview your questions do not have to go in order and you could potentially skip questions. At least that was my understanding of the reading, but I could be wrong.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am actually planning on doing a structured interview. I am only going to ask my first graders a few questions (3) and I will be asking all the questions in the same order without skipping any of them. I appreciate that you pointed that out though because I didn’t think about how it could be confusing. I think I should change the title to include that it is tips for a structured interview.

      Like

  2. Cherie,

    I really liked your infographic! It’s very neat, concise, and easy to follow. The amount of information given wasn’t overwhelming, and the images you used were very descriptive as well. I like what you shared about asking “why” questions. It isn’t always obvious that those types of questions would implicate cause-effect relationships, but I can think of many examples where that might be the case. I think I’ve decided against using interviews, but if I end up going that route, I will definitely make sure I don’t ask any “why” questions!

    Like

    1. I never really thought that asking “why” questions could be negative. After I read that, I thought about it too. I used why questions in my last research interviews and they didn’t work well with my kindergarteners that I had last year. Thank you for your input about my infographic. I found dozens (and dozens) of tips, but I picked ones that I thought might be helpful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

