Week 7 Observing Students

I chose to make a relatively simple infographic with tips to think about when observing students. During my reading of the chapter, I felt that the six elements of observation were going to be key for me to remember when I observe my students (Merriam & Tisdell, 2016). I was able to find helpful ideas from other sources as well. I also looked into my past research field notes and observation documents for more ideas.

References

Chesterfield, R. (n.d.). Classroom Observation Tools. Retrieved from Institute for International Research/Improving Educational Quality Project: http://www.ieq.org/pdf/Class_ObsTool.pdf

Kawulich, B. B. (2005, May). Participant Observation as a Data Collection Method. Retrieved October 15, 2015, from Forum: Qualitative Social Research: http://www.qualitative-research.net/index.php/fqs/article/view/466/996

Mack, N., Woodsong, C., MacQueen, K., Guest, G., & Namey, E. (2005). Qualitative Research Methods: A Data Collector’s Field Guide. Retrieved October 15, 2015, from Family Health International: http://www.fhi360.org/sites/default/files/media/documents/Qualitative%20Research%20Methods%20-%20A%20Data%20Collector’s%20Field%20Guide.pdf

Merriam, S. B., & Tisdell, E. J. (2016). Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

One thought on “The most important things to remember when observing students

  1. Well, if it makes you feel better, I kept checking back at your page to see if you had posted yet, but I thought maybe your internet was acting up again, so I did try over the weekend. I’m sorry you’re so stressed out with school, I know I’m stressed and I don’t have all that extra stuff going on, so I can only imagine how you feel. We are half way done with the semester though as of last week, so keep on going, we will all get through this together! I really liked the lay out of your infographic, I can see why it took so long! I like the buses that you used as your pathway. I hope that even though it sounds like things won’t settle down anytime soon, that they start to flow for you and you will feel more on top of things with school and with classes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

