How will I format and disseminate my research?

I plan on using a similar format to what I used last spring for my research. I can use the same sections. My audience will be my fellow students. My administrator and a colleague have also asked to see it. I may share it at one of my PLCs as well. I hadn’t thought too much about how knowing my audience affects what I will report until I read, “once it is clear who will be reading the report, you can ask what that audience would want to know about the study” (Merriam & Tisdell, 2016).

My sections will include my rational for research, literature review, research question, method, data results and analysis, discussion, and my conclusion and recommendation. The hardest parts for me will be the method and data results/analysis sections because I have so much data. “There is a great deal of material to be covered in the Method section, yet authors should aim for a balance between clarity and brevity. Too little detail can raise questions about transparency and rigor, but too much detail can seem trivial” (Allen & Goldberg, 2015). I searched for ideas of what to include in research paper to see if I was missing key components and I found some tips for writing a qualitative research paper. I found that it is important to discuss why your research is needed. You also need to ask yourself and write about whether you are building new theory or elaborating on existing theory and how you got from your data to your findings (Pratt, 2009).

My biggest concern is what to do when I hit roadblocks and I know that I will because there is just so much data. Wolcott writes, “On days when it doesn’t seem to be going at all, you might devote some time to bringing the reference section up to date. That leaves you armed with a ready reply, should some insensitive but well-meaning colleague raise the anxiety-provoking question, ‘Well, how did it go today?’” (Wolcott, 2009). My mom will ask me repeatedly how my writing is going. It is very frustrating when I have not made the progress I wanted to make or if I am struggling. I read the entire third chapter of Wolcott’s book and there are a lot of really good suggestions in it to keep me going forward in my writing. It was also humorous. I will definitely be referring back to it as I write up my research paper and analyze my data.

References

Allen, K. R., & Goldberg, A. E. (2015, February). Communicating Qualitative Research: Some Practical Guideposts for Scholars. Retrieved November 14, 2015, from Wiley Online Library: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/store/10.1111/jomf.12153/asset/jomf12153.pdf;jsessionid=6108CCEB7A0595CDC50C618ACAA00AA2.f04t04?v=1&t=ih1i1v3r&s=72f1d20660367fe020443d547885e19afc2b866f

Merriam, S. B., & Tisdell, E. J. (2016). Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Pratt, M. (2009). For the Lack of a Boilerplate: Tips on Writing Up (and Reviewing) Qualitative Research. Retrieved November 15, 2015, from Academy of Management Journal: http://aom.org/uploadedFiles/Publications/AMJ/Pratt_Oct%202009.PDF

Wolcott, H. F. (2009). Chapter Three: Keep Going. Retrieved November 15, 2015, from Sage Publications: https://us.sagepub.com/sites/default/files/upm-binaries/26402_Chapter3.pdf

2 thoughts on “How will I format and disseminate my research?

  1. Cherie,

    Thanks for sharing the quote about what to do when you hit a roadblock. I found myself stuck when I was writing my proposal, and I think that could have really helped me out at that point. I know that I will get stuck, probably multiple times, so I will definitely go back and revisit some of the articles that I used for my literature review.

    I also have quite a bit of data, which to be honest, I really wasn’t expecting. A lot of my data is in the form of student survey responses, and I haven’t quite figured out how to organize that yet, so hopefully when I get it better organized, it will be easier to include in my paper.

    The quote you shared about finding balance in the methods section is going to be difficult for me. My main fear is not knowing when I’ve found the right balance between too much information and not enough. Hopefully we are all able to help each other with that aspect of the writing process.

    Like

    • I think feedback is extremely helpful during the writing process. You can definitely hit me up and I will also ask you questions. I always think it’s better to bounce questions and ideas off of others. You may think of something I won’t and vice versa. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

